Jazz: The Berlin Kollektiv Nights Festival is coming around again

by | indieBerlin

The JazzKollektiv in Berlin has been holding the Kollektiv Nights festival since 2007 and the 11th edition of the festival is coming up from the 19th to the 21st January in Tiyatrom, a Turkish theatre with wonderful acoustics in Kreuzberg. If the word ‘jazz’ makes you feel afraid but you remain curious, this might be the best ‘jazz’ festival for you to go to to lay your fears to rest…far from bebop, neo-blues widdling and rehashed 50s/60s big band numbers, the jazzers behind this festival see themselves and their craft simply as improvised music with less rules than usual. I’m always impressed by both they and their well-selected guests avoid cliche and keep things interesting. Pop along and see what you think. Highlight of the festival is pianist supremo Marc Schmolling, who uses the occasion to release his brand new album. The entire line-up is below.

19. – 21. Januar 2015
Alte Jakobstraße 12
10969 Berlin

U-Bahn: Moritzplatz, Kochstraße, Hallesches Tor
Bus: M29 Waldeckplatz, 248 Jüdisches Museum

Starts 8pm

Entry: 18 Euro / reduced 12 Euro for one evening
Festivalpass: 40 Euro / reduced 25 Euro


Montag, 19.1.2015

Das Rosa Rauschen
Felix Wahnschaffe – Altsaxofon
Achim Kaufmann – Piano
Andreas Lang – Kontrabass
Moritz Baumgärtner – Schlagzeug

With Suspicious Minds
Vesna Pisarović – Gesang
Gerhard Gschlößl – Posaune
Jan Roder – Bass
Michael Griener – Schlagzeug

Ronny Graupe – Gitarre
Philipp Gropper – Tenorsaxofon
Tom Arthurs – Trompete
Max Mucha – Kontrabass
Daniel Schröteler – Schlagzeug

Dienstag, 20.1.2015

Lucia Cadotsch “Speak low”
Lucia Cadotsch – Gesang
Otis Sandsjö – Tenorsaxophon
Petter Eldh – Kontrabass

Marc Schmolling – Piano, Komposition
Tom Arthurs – Trompete
Almut Kühne – Stimme

TrácataTátún Tricontinental
María Catalina Robles – Cajón, Zapateo, Gesang
Laura Robles – Cajón, Bongó, Tumbadoras, E-Bass
Moussa Coulibaly – Djembe, Balafon, Tamani
Bodek Janke – Schlagzeug, Perkussion
Johannes Lauer – Perkussion
mit finanzieller Unterstützung des Auswärtigen Amtes und des Goethe-Instituts

Mittwoch, 21.1.2015

Lotus Eaters
Wanja Slavin – Altsaxofon
Gabriel Coburger – Tenorsaxofon
Rainer Böhm – Piano
Andreas Lang – Kontrabass
Tobias Backhaus – Schlagzeug

Tobias Delius – Tenorsaxofon, Klarinette
Charly Birkenhauer – Vibrafon
Hilary Jeffery – Posaune

Philipp Gropper – Tenorsaxofon
Philipp Zoubek – Synthesizer
Petter Eldh – Bass/Elektronik
Moritz Baumgärtner – Schlagzeug

Hear the latest Moa McKay Single Heartbreak Billie